Unsubscribe from Comments and Likes Message going around on Facebook

Unsubscribing to your friends’ Comments and Likes doesn’t protect their privacy

After seeing numerous friends post to their status about “Unsubscribing to Comments and Likes”, I’ve taken it upon myself to correct this misinformation.

Most of you may have seen a message similar to this posted on Facebook by a friend:

Hello FRIENDS! As you all know I like to keep my FB private except to those I am friends with. So if you all would do the following, I’d appreciate it. With the new FB timeline on its way this week for EVERYONE. . . please do both of us a favor: Hover over my name above. In a few seconds you’ll see a box that says “Subscribed”. Hover over that, then go to “Comments and Likes” and unclick it. That will stop my posts and yours to me from showing up on the side bar for everyone to see, but most importantly it limits hackers from invading our profiles. If you repost this I will do the same for you. You’ll know I’ve acknowledged you because if you tell me that you’ve done it I’ll “like” it

I teach courses in marketing using social media sites like Facebook so I have familiarized myself with most of its features and all there is to know about privacy.

The new Ticker function on the top right side of your Facebook homepage only shows activities and updates of you and your friends on other people’s pages if you and your friends have made your posts public.

“Un-check Comments and Likes” of friends,  and YOU will no longer see their activity updates

If you “Un-check Comments and Likes” of friends, YOU will no longer be notified of your friends’ activities on your timeline. However this action doesn’t stop your friends’ activities from showing on the Ticker.

Because this false message is being passed around on Facebook in error, Facebook has posted more information about it on their help page.  Please visit the Facebook Help section on the subject Who can see stories about my comments and likes in ticker? for detailed information.

Post author determines post privacy

Here’s the complete help page on Facebook explaining how the Ticker works. On this page Facebook notes the following in regards to comment privacy:

To control stories about your commenting activity in ticker and News Feed, always check who can see the privacy of the posts you’re commenting on.

The privacy level of a post determines who sees the post.  The visibility of your comment on a post is directly dependent on the privacy settings of the post. This means regardless of who is “Subscribed or Unsubscribed” to your “comments and likes”, your comments will be visible to the public if you comment on a post which is set to be visible to the public.

Again please refer to the Facebook Help pages on this subject to get the correct information about sharing.

Cheers,

Nikta

If you find this information useful, please feel free to share. You may also leave a comment below.